Travel ban on 3 more countries

17. 03. 2020 | 12.15pm
Travel ban on 3 more countries

The Civil Aviation Authority (CAA) has announced that passengers from Qatar, Bahrain, and Canada will not be permitted to land in Sri Lanka,according to the Department of Government Information.

Issuing a circular the Chairman of the CAA Upul Dharmadasa said the travel ban will be effective from midnight today (17).

He notified all online carriers and offline carriers that according to the instructions received from the Sri Lanka Health Authorities, passengers of Qatari, Canadian or Bahraini nationalities or any passenger who has a travel history to Qatar, Canada or Bahrain within the last 14 days will not be permitted to land in Sri Lanka with effect from 11.59 pm on 17 March for a period of two weeks.

However, he noted that this restriction does not apply to passengers transiting Qatar, Canada or Bahrain provided:

1. They are not nationals of Qatar, Canada or Bahrain and they have not visited these three countries in the last 14 days and

2. They do not have a travel history in the last 14 days in the previously restricted Countries such as Italy, Iran, South Korea, United Kingdom, France, Belgium, Norway,Sweden, Switzerland, Spain, Germany, Austria, Netherlands, and Denmark).

Department of Government Information


COVID-19 Situation Analysis